Posted by: mutantpoodle | November 12, 2007

Tower of Babel

Litbrit tipped me off to this irritainment, as my friend Mack would call it – you can evaluate your blog’s reading level. Or, more accurately, there’s a site with some sort of algorithm that will do it for you. Mine is…wait for it…oh, hell, just look to the left.

Junior High School, eh? I will assume that’s because my elegant, uncluttered prose is easily understandable by the masses.

Either that, or I don’t know me any of them really big words, other than algorithm.

You can go here to find out your blog’s reading level.

I double-dare you.

UPDATE: Commenters at Litbrit are saying this is a hoax, so I went to this site and threw in three recent blog posts. My Gunning-Fog index averages about 12.5 – just a shade above the level of the Wall Street Journal. My Flesch-Kincaid Grade Level averages out at about 9 – so, hoax or not, Junior High School may not be too far off the mark.

And that is ten minutes more than I ever wanted to spend on this subject.

Leave a Reply

Categories

