Posted by: mutantpoodle | February 19, 2008

Buying the kool-aid

OK, I’ve done it. I have, after avoiding the issue for many months, finally donated money to a Presidential candidate.

No, not John McCain.

Today I donated to Barack Obama, without being asked. And, in case you’re wondering, Hillary has asked me for money many many times.

This is what sent me to barackobama.com.

In case you missed it, Clinton surrogates are accusing Obama of plagiarism because he used elements of a speech by Massachusetts Governor Deval Patrick this past weekend. That is, Obama’s friend Deval Patrick, with whom he’d discussed using the language in question.

That’s bad enough. But here was the head-slapping part of the story:

In response to a reporter’s question, [Clinton communications advisor Howard] Wolfson also pointed to the Obama campaign theme of “Yes, we can,” echoing the Spanish-language slogan that once was the rallying cry of Cesar Chavez: “Sí, se puede.”

Just kill me now.

I have defended Hillary in this space and to friends – I think one reason she’s polarizing is that the right wing demonized her.

But this shit is another one.

There are those who differentiate between Hillary and her campaign – or, as Ezra Klein says,

During periods when I see more of Hillary Clinton and less of her campaign, I’m more favorably disposed. During periods when I see less of Hillary Clinton and more of her campaign, I’m less favorably disposed.

Except that she is her campaign, and vice-versa. Just as you can’t give George Bush a pass for all the odious things Karl Rove has said on his behalf, you can’t give Hillary a pass when Wolfson pursues this desperate path, or when Mark Penn says this:

Could we possibly have a nominee who hasn’t won any of the significant states — outside of Illinois? That raises some serious questions about Sen. Obama.

Or Hillary Michigan co-chair Joel Ferguson says this:

Superdelegates are not second-class delegates. The real second-class delegates are the delegates that are picked in red-state caucuses that are never going to vote Democratic.

So I’ve had it. I’ve put up with my personal Clinton fatigue because I thought so much of it was manufactured, and I thought she, on her own, was quite appealing.

But if we’ve learned anything in the past seven years, it’s that who works for you matters. And the Hillary crowd is just noxious enough to keep me away, until November, when, if necessary, I’ll happily ink the dot next to her name.

And hope she gets rid of some of her more odious staffers.

Leave a Reply

Categories

