Posted by: mutantpoodle | June 18, 2008

Blogversary

Cartoon by Alex Gregory from the New Yorker

Cartoon by Alex Gregory from the New Yorker

It was one year ago today that I took fingers to keyboard (I am a four-finger non-touch typist) and starting posting stuff on this blog.

With one whole year of experience under my belt, I have a healthy respect for people who do this full time, and am unbelievably impressed with people who post regularly and have, you know, jobs.

Red Smith once was asked about writing, and he replied that it was easy – you just sit at the typewriter until the drops of blood ooze from your forehead.

For me, it’s not so much the writing – when a juicy idea comes along posts often almost write themselves – but (a) finding that juicy idea, and an original one would be nice (and one where I feel I have some kind of unique perspective), and (b) editing. I probably spend more time polishing than writing, which is doubtless genetic.

All this is a long-winded way of saying blogging is hard, and I respect those who do it, for whatever reasons. I started because I had a few thoughts rattling around my head, and I find writing them helps me form them better. That some people come by and read them is icing on the cake.

Because it’s my blogday, I’ll just say that in addition to my first post manifesto, which holds up pretty well, I think, I’d tag these five as posts I look back on with minimal embarrassment.

My posting frequency is off recently, for two reasons. First, I have been working more, and those deadlines take precedence. (I am a procrastinator when it comes to writing, and combine that with no deadline, and you have trouble.) Second, I haven’t had anything earth-shattering to say. Or, more accurately, less stuff is driving me to the keyboard in a righteous fury. It’s not that there isn’t egregious stuff out there, but it’s pretty well handled by my colleagues, both with and without the large followings.

The irregular posting will continue for a bit. I have a lot of travel coming in the next month, and I choose not to post while on vacation. I suspect that I’ll get more fired up later in the summer, when the election season is in full swing, and the lunacy is flying fast. Until then, I’ll see you when I see you, and when you stop by, feel free to drop a note.

Leave a Reply

Categories

