Posted by: mutantpoodle | November 17, 2008

On the Obamas

Along with 24.5 million other folks, I tuned in to watch the Barack Obama interview on 60 Minutes last night. and I was pleased to see that our President-elect is still knowledgeable, thoughtful, articulate, and disciplined.But I knew that already.

What I most enjoyed was the interview with both Obamas, not for anything wonky or substantive, but because, for lack of a better phrase, it’s nice to see a Presidential couple that look like other happy couples I know.

They clearly like each other, they support each other, and there’s a little bit of good-natured teasing there as well. Michelle’s comments about Barack’s car when they first dated – and his dorm-like apartment in Washington that she wouldn’t sleep in – reminded me of my modest early days, and made me grateful that, among other things, the Obamas actually do have recent experience living like a substantial number of people in this country.

In a city, no less.

But I digress. Back to the couple dynamic. You can’t diagnose over the teevee, and I’m not saying that other first couples haven’t had the kind of relationship the Obamas displayed last night.

But it’s nice to see it displayed.

obamas-copy

[Image via Callie Shell]

For the rest of the 60 Minutes interview, go here.

Leave a Reply

Categories

