Posted by: mutantpoodle | January 3, 2012

A billion here, a billion there..

USS John C. Stennis, Juan de Fuca Strait, July 2009

I’m studiously ignoring Iowa in the hope that a frothy Santorum surprise burbles up, just for my perverse entertainment.

In the meantime, the New York Times has a handy “How Would YOU cut the Pentagon Budget by $450 billion over 10 years” tool, and I nearly got to $500 billion worth, without cutting health benefits or freezing salaries, since I am a soshulist lefty who thinks paying people well is probably better than the alternative.

Anyway, my plan is here.

What was interesting to me is that most choices got between 30% and 40% of the respondents to sign up.  (More people than I am comfortable with were happy to whack away at military benefits and salaries – about 40%, depending on the choice.)  Over half the respondents wanted to cut back Navy Ship buying ($55 billion!), but the one that got the most support? Cut US forces in europe by 1/3, from 150,000 to 100,000.  $70 billion dollars, and well over 80% of the respondents pulled that lever. Or, you know, checked that box.

Let’s see Mitch McConnell filibuster that.

Of course, any penny cut from defense means the terrorists have won, so I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

Categories

